Becoming A Better Shemsu

IV Shomu 30

This entry was inspired by a post to the HoN forums at Netjer.org titled the same. The question was how can we become better Shemsu/Remetj? I make no excuses, I know I can do more to live within ma’at and become the Shemsu I’m supposed to be. Hemet’s letter to the community was just the kick in the pants I needed.

I’m the kind of person who is a bit of a perfectionist in a lot of areas. I let it spew into my spiritual life far too often. I don’t do Senut as often as I know I should because either my environment isn’t “right” or my mood isn’t “right” or I don’t feel spiritual enough at the moment… there is always an excuse.

Because of the lack of living space in our house, I am forced to keep my shrine cabinet in the basement which I absolutely hate. I can’t do anything about the size of my home but what I can  do is find a small space upstairs where I can bring my statue(s) and offering dishes when it’s time for Senut and return them to my shrine when I’m done with Senut. I’ve already begun to put this into practice. At the foot of our bed in the master bedroom sits a wicker trunk which is the perfect height for kneeling in front of. I’ve cleared the top of it of the piles of laundry and from now on, when it’s time for Senut, I will bring my statue(s) and offering dishes upstairs if I can’t bring myself to do Senut in the basement. No more excuses!

Another way I’ve let isfet into my life and ignored ma’at is by letting myself fall victim to being sucked into spending too much time online. This has allowed me plenty of opportunity to interact with the KO community but it has prevented me from actually living my faith and taking care of other responsibilities. I’m working on this as well. What I’ve done in the past is to place a lock on my computer so that it will only boot up during certain hours of the day, preventing me from being able to access the internet. Currently I only have access during the hours when my daughter is napping from 1pm-3pm and after she is in bed for the night, after 8pm.

These are my first steps toward living a better life within ma’at and becoming a better Shemsu.

Senebty,

~ Zabet

4 Responses to “Becoming A Better Shemsu”

  1. I have the perfectionist problem as well. It’s not easy for a tall guy to find a white cotton garment to wear for Senut, and I didn’t have the cash to order anything. It was taking me forever to get started.

    Finally I said “Heck with it” and started wearing an oversize dark bathrobe with a graphpaper design that I wasn’t wearing for anything else. A couple days later, my wife found a white cotton galbeya at a rummage sale, and it fits me.

    I suppose the Netjeru got together and said “get him something decent to wear!”

    • LMAO! I don’t really have the money to buy a proper ritual robe either. I ended up going with a white sweat suite

      Ritual robes are expensive! My boyfriend owns a metaphysical store and even with a discount I still have to pay $100!

  2. After returning to the HoN (a spiritual calling) I am going to vow to take my faith more seriously. Once I have everything in place and a perfect spot to perform Senut I will do it as often as I possibly can (I can’t promise I will do it everyday, but I will do it as often as I physically can). I’m hoping to find a few cheap and decent bowls and garments for Senut, unfortunately I have to be tight with money.

Leave a Reply

