Ignosticism

IV Peret 5

I want to share with you a post I came across on a new blog I’m following here on WordPress. You may or may not already know that while my religious affiliation is Kemetic Orthodox, I also self identify as Ignostic… No, not the same thing as agnostic.

Ignosticism – Atheist, polyamorous, skeptics: Criticism is not uncivil

5 Responses to “Ignosticism”

  1. I’ll be honest, I’m having trouble grasping how you can be Kemetic and believe in a god or any god and be ignostic as well. This is my first hearing of such a branch of belief, but as I understand it, ignosticism is more or less the rationalization behind atheism – an argument that posits that God, or any gods, are meaningless, and so are our interactions with them because we cannot explain them.

    …so how do you mesh these two beliefs? Are you simply saying that you believe you cannot fully explain your interaction with your gods? Or do you actually believe your interaction with them is meaningless, therefore.. pointless?

    • Both in a way… and this might make some people here angry but it is what it is. I get something out of my interaction with the gods so for me, my faith isn’t completely meaningless. It’s the question I have a problem with, the question itself is meaningless so arguing it is a waste of time. Beyond that, the scientific method doesn’t allow for UPG and you can’t prove non-existance.

      If God and/or gods don’t exist, then yes, my interactions will basically be meaningless when I’m gone but they have a positive impact on my life in the here and now and that’s what’s important to me.

      • -nods-

        That actually makes a whole lot of sense, and I was hoping that it would. haha. I can agree that the question of whether or not God or gods exist is pretty pointless because it isn’t ever something we can tangibly prove. And I definitely agree that what it means to us as individuals is far more important than proof (at least, I agree if that’s what you’re saying! XD)

  2. Then I demand a coherent explanation of how quantum physics works before I’ll believe in subatomic particles.
    Also, Dark Matter and String Theory look a little wibbly right now too. So I should add grand Unified Field Theory to my list of demands. :p Doesn’t make me angry, but evangelical atheists are a bit much.

    Atheists believe in all sorts of irrational things. There are lots of things in physics and cosmology that aren’t testable. What was the universe like before the big bang? Assuming there was one, I assume there was. Dealing with Christians makes them cranky, and that’s understandable.

    She should clean this up sometime, but it’s interesting:

    • But atheism is merely a response to a set of claims (gods), and atheists don’t believe anything necessarily, at least qua atheism. Sure, there are irrational atheists out there, but it is not atheism per se that makes them such, it is there lack of skepticism and so forth which does so.

      The difference between things like quantum mechanics and gods is that there are coherent explanations of QM, and none for gods that survive testability (hence ignosticism). As for dark matter and string theory, at least there are mathematical models which support the ideas, even if they are not empirically verified (yet?). I don’t believe in string theory (nor do I know enough about it to say much more), but trust the peer review method enough to take it seriously as an idea.

      I also know enough about theology, philosophy, and religious history to take it seriously…and I find it lacking quite severely in sufficient evidence for any gods.

Leave a Reply

